Again, San Francisco surprised me. Perhaps it is that way when you go somewhere you’ve never been before. But San Francisco didn’t look like I imagined it would (not that I can recall any pre-conceived notion I had of what San Francisco would be like). I’ve seen plenty of films and photos of the city. Seeing SF in person was altogether different. I still can’t put my finger on what exactly “it” is. Was it the colors and shapes of the building?  The very casual, lack of pretense? The art? The people, so ordinary? There was no real hustle bustle there. It was unlike any American city I know.

Here are some random photos of the streets above the wharf area.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

John still wasn’t feeling so great, so didn’t rent a scooter to take over to Muir Woods, but stayed near the hotel and watched the fog roll in.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

