We headed toward San Francisco.

All of my life San Francisco has been on my mind, but for one reason or another we’ve never made it there. Back in the 70s we were camping around in Northern California but never made it as far south as SF. We’ve been to LA and San Diego (see HERE for posts about the 2013 trip to Southern California). I had begun to think that San Francisco was just not in my cards. But here we were, driving west on I80, away from Lake Tahoe, which still had a layer of smoke settled on it, toward the ferry in Vallejo that would take us to San Francisco.

IMG_9042

Even though the weather had cleared, you can still see the layer of smoke.

California has a different look and feel to it. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it all feels slightly different from anywhere else I have ever been.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We left our car in Vallejo, boarded the ferry, and headed for San Francisco!

Past Alcatraz and into the Port of San Francisco … we are excited …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

