Of course, the party started with Mass at St. Joseph Proto Cathedral, the pioneer church built in 1816 and the first Catholic cathedral west of the Allegheny mountains. This is where I was baptized, made my First Communion, confirmed, married John, and from which we buried both of my parents (and most of my relatives). Lots of memories here.

Harry Bill said the Mass with various other priests on  the altar. My cousins Shirley and Peggy played the piano. The whole congregation sang Happy Birthday to Aunt Louise. I lit a candle.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After Mass we went over to the Parish Social Hall. This is a new, built only in the last couple of years. It is at the back of the playground and is built down the hillside. Everything was decorated like a wedding feast. There was table filled with photos and congratulation letters from the Mayor, to every Kentucky Senator and Representative, all the way to up to President Obama.

And then we just dined and danced with much joy and amazement at these lives that we have had together.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One last look at the old cathedral as we head back to our motel room …

IMG_8142

