The life and passion of a person leave an imprint on the ether of a place. Love does not remain within the heart, it flows out to build secret tabernacles in a landscape.

O’Donohue, John (2009-03-17). Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom (p. 19). HarperCollins. Kindle Edition.

IMG_8045

I can still smell these barns. The left one is the dairy barn and the one on the right was where the tobacco was dried. An earthy smell of hay and cows and milk. It was not a bad smell, but it was strong.

This was my father’s life. Every day, morning and night, more than 200 cows had to be milked. I remember walking down the concrete aisles of the barn, all the cows herded into a milking station. By the time I was around my father was more involved in the dairy business in town, and had a man who took care of the cows and milking. But he still was here most every day to see how things were going.

Seeing these barns, still standing, and looking so peaceful, quiet, and beautiful makes my father feel very close to me, even now. His life.

IMG_8046

IMG_8047

IMG_8050

